Last updated
Maintained by CeriFi CPEdge from the same rule data our compliance engine uses — how we maintain this →
How to reach the regulator directly.
AICPA - Employee Benefit Plan Audit Quality Center
1455 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
Tel: (888) 777-7077
Email: ebpaqc@aicpa.org
The regulator's own published rules and related resources.
The total continuing education hours required.
8 hours.
The detailed rules behind that total -- category minimums, ethics, and other conditions.
Individuals signing audit opinions and individuals managing ERISA employee benefit plan audit engagements, must complete a minimum of 8 hours of employee benefit plan-specific continuing professional education (CPE).
How the reporting cycle is structured.
Triennial.
When a reporting cycle begins.
For an individual signing audit opinions and an individual managing ERISA employee benefit plan audit engagements, the individual must complete a minimum of 8 hours of employee benefit plan-specific continuing professional education (CPE) within the three year period (or within the firm's or individual's most recent CPE period ending within the three year period) prior to signing an ERISA employee benefit plan audit opinion or managing an ERISA employee benefit plan audit engagement. Thereafter, the individual must have a minimum of 8 hours of employee benefit plan-specific CPE every three years (or within the firm's or individual's CPE period covering a three year period) where an individual continues in this capacity for ERISA employee benefit plan audits. (Program must be in place at admission; CPE requirement must be met in the firms or individual's first CPE cycle ending after admission date.)
How completed credits are reported to the regulator.
CPE compliance will be subject to peer review.
The renewal or reporting deadline.
Refer to "Start Date" above.
What happens if the requirement is not met.
Not specified.
Reduced or prorated requirements for a first renewal.
Not specified.
Rules for professionals licensed elsewhere.
Not specified.
Who may be excused from all or part of this requirement.
Not specified.
Whether unused credits can apply to the next period.
Not permitted.
Prepared and maintained by CeriFi CPEdge, which has tracked CPE rules for over 20 years, covering 76 accountancy regulators — all 50 state boards of accountancy, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, plus national bodies and professional designations including NASBA, PCAOB, Yellow Book, CFP, IRS Enrolled Agents and CTEC.
Each regulator is tracked across 44 distinct rule areas — credit categories, compliance periods, format limits, carryover, new-licensee provisions, reporting method and provider-approval requirements. When a board changes its rules the rule set is updated, and where the published wording is ambiguous CeriFi confirms the interpretation with the board directly.
Always verify against the regulator’s own published rules — see official links above.
CPEdge applies AICPA - EBPAQC’s compliance period, credit categories, carryover and new-licensee provisions to your activity history automatically, and tells you what is still outstanding — across every jurisdiction you are licensed in at once.
Already included in all three CPE packages: Professional · Premier · Premier Plus — compare packages
Need courses too? Browse the catalog to find CPE that satisfies these requirements.
This rule summary was prepared solely by CeriFi and is not endorsed, reviewed, or approved by your State Board of Accountancy. While CeriFi takes great strides to accurately convey the CPE rules and requirements in a readily accessible and easy-to-understand format, this summary does not in any way represent or replace the official rules of the regulating authority. Thus, these summaries are not to be relied upon as a substitute for the official rules and regulations of the regulating authority. CeriFi does not warrant the accuracy of this rule summary and CeriFi may not be held liable for any damages as a result of any reliance upon it.