Last updated
Maintained by CeriFi CPEdge from the same rule data our compliance engine uses — how we maintain this →
How to reach the regulator directly.
Montana Board of Public Accountants
301 South Park, 4th Floor
P.O. Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
Tel: (406) 841-2205
Fax: (406) 841-2309
Email: DLIBSDLicensingUnitA@mt.gov
The regulator's own published rules and related resources.
The total continuing education hours required.
120 hours.
The detailed rules behind that total -- category minimums, ethics, and other conditions.
Technical Subject Requirement:
Effective December 9, 2017: Beginning with periods starting January 1, 2018 and after, active licensees must complete a minimum of 50 percent (60 hours) of the total CPE hours required in technical fields of study as identified in ARM 24.201.2120 (refer to "General Characteristics of Accredited Education" below). Subjects other than technical and nontechnical fields of study may be acceptable if the licensee can demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that such subjects or specific programs contribute to the maintenance of the licensee's professional competence.
Ethics:
Effective November 21, 2014 (Updated June 4, 2016): Active licensees are required to have 120 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) with a subset of two hours in ethics for the previous three-year period ending December 31 of each year, except as otherwise provided an Extension or Hardship Exception.
Effective July 13, 2012 - November 20, 2014: Holders of a Montana permit to practice are required to have 120 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) with a subset of two hours in ethics in any rolling three-year period.
Prior to July 13, 2012: At least two hours of the 120 hours of acceptable continuing education credit must consist of knowledge and the application of ethics or the codes of professional conduct of certified public accountants and licensed public accountants.
Reporting on Financial Statements Requirement: [RESCINDED]
For periods ending June 30, 2005 and earlier: At least 24 hours of the 120 hours of acceptable continuing education credit must consist of subjects related to the reporting on financial statements (as defined in ARM 8.54.204).
Don't see what you need? Browse the full course catalog
How the reporting cycle is structured.
Effective July 13, 2012 (Updated November 21, 2014): Beginning with the 2012 period, the rolling three-year period will be based on the calendar year. To make the change from fiscal year to calendar year, licensees will be able to count CPE obtained between July 1, 2011 through December 31, 2012, toward the 2012 year.
| Period Ending: | Start Date: | Stop Date: | Amount of Time: |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | July 1, 2008 | June 30, 2011 | 3 years |
| 2012 | July 1, 2009 | December 31, 2012 | 3.5 years |
| 2013 | July 1, 2010 | December 31, 2013 | 3.5 years |
| 2014 | July 1, 2011 | December 31, 2014 | 3.5 years |
| 2015 | January 1, 2013 | December 31, 2015 | 3 years |
| 2016 | January 1, 2014 | December 31, 2016 | 3 years |
When a reporting cycle begins.
Effective July 13, 2012: January 1. Beginning with the 2012 period, the rolling three-year period will be based on the calendar year. To make the change from fiscal year to calendar year, licensees will be able to count CPE obtained between July 1, 2011 and December 31, 2012, toward the 2012 year. (Refer to "Cycling Period" above.)
Prior to July 13, 2012: July 1.
How completed credits are reported to the regulator.
Renewals / Reporting Requirements:
Active licensees will be required to affirm their compliance with understanding of the basic requirement upon annual renewal. This affirmation will be for the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year.
Effective July 13, 2012; Updated November 21, 2014; June 4, 2016; December 8, 2018: Reporting of actual courses/credits is not required, unless the individual is selected for a random CPE audit (as outlined in ARM 24.201.2148), or the individual must otherwise prove compliance for licensure purposes (i.e., restoring a license to active status).
Standards for CPE Reporting:
Effective December 9, 2017; Updated December 8, 2018: Licensees are responsible for accurately reporting CPE and must retain appropriate documentation of their participation in learning activities.
Updated November 21, 2014; December 9, 2017; December 8, 2018: Participants in group, self-study, nano-learning, or blended learning programs must obtain a certificate of completion or transcript issued by the program sponsor. Acceptable documentation must include the following information:
Documentation must be retained for not less than five years.
Updated November 21, 2014; December 9, 2017: Documentation for technical committee sessions must include a written certificate including the following:
Effective December 9, 2017: Acceptable evidence for credit of publications is a copy of the publication that names the licensee as author or contributor, a statement from the licensee supporting the number of CPE credits claimed, and the name and contact information of the independent reviewer(s) or publisher.
Prior to November 21, 2014: For courses taken for academic credit in universities and colleges, evidence of satisfactory completion of the course and receipt of academic credit will be sufficient (i.e., transcripts); for noncredit courses, a statement of the hours of attendance, signed by the instructor, must be obtained by the individual.
The renewal or reporting deadline.
Effective July 13, 2012 (Updated June 4, 2016): Active licensees will be required to affirm their compliance with the basic requirement upon annual renewal. This affirmation will be for the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year.
Prior to July 13, 2012: July 31.
What happens if the requirement is not met.
Noncompliance with the CPE requirements may result in late fee penalties and/or the Board's refusal to renew the license.
Verification:
Effective June 4, 2016:
Effective November 21, 2014 - June 3, 2016:
Effective July 13, 2012 - November 20, 2014:
Prior to July 13, 2012:
Reduced or prorated requirements for a first renewal.
Effective July 13, 2012; Updated November 21, 2014; June 4, 2016; December 9, 2017: Applicants for a license must meet the basic requirement of CPE by December 31 of the third year following the year of the initial issuance of the Montana license (example: If an individual received their license in 2017, they must meet the basic CPE requirement by December 31, 2020).
Effective May 1, 2020: New licensees must meet the basic requirement of CPE by December 31 of the third year following the year of the initial issuance of the Montana license. CPE completed during the initial licensing year does not accrue toward the first reporting period (example: If an individual received their initial license in 2020, they must meet the basic CPE requirement between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2023).
Prior to July 13, 2012: The first full CPE period for new licensees ends three years from the June 30 following an individual's initial application for permit to practice. Credits earned between the date of initial licensure and the immediately following June 30 cannot be applied towards the CPE requirement of the licensee's first full CPE period. For purposes of determining date of initial licensure in Montana, a licensee who is licensed on account of holding a license in another state shall use the date of initial licensure in that state.
Rules for professionals licensed elsewhere.
Practice Privilege:
Effective November 21, 2014: Any individual who qualifies for the practice privilege in this state must meet the CPE requirements applicable in the jurisdiction of his or her principal state.
Prior to November 21, 2014: Applicants for a permit to practice who are transferring into Montana via licensure in another jurisdiction, who have been licensed for less than three years, are granted the same time period in which to meet Montana's basic CPE requirement, based on their original licensure date in the other jurisdiction.
Out-of-State Applicants Seeking a Montana Permit to Practice:
Effective December 9, 2017: A nonresident Montana licensee shall be determined to meet Montana CPE requirements by meeting the CPE requirements in the state where their principal place of business is located. If the nonresident licensee's principal place of business state has no CPE requirements for renewal, the nonresident licensee must comply with all CPE requirements for renewal of a license in Montana.
Effective November 21, 2014; Repealed June 4, 2016: An individual who receives a permit from this state by transfer of license, shall be required to comply with the basic requirement in Montana.
Effective July 13, 2012 - November 20, 2014: An individual, who holds a valid and unrevoked certified public accountant certificate or public accountant license issued by any jurisdiction, and who makes application under the appropriate provisions of the statutes for a certificate or license in this state, and who receives a certificate or license from this state, shall be required to comply with the basic requirement before being issued a permit to practice in this state.
Prior to November 21, 2014: Applicants for a permit to practice who are transferring into Montana via licensure in another jurisdiction, who have been licensed for more than three years, must submit proof of having met Montana's basic CPE requirement at the time of application.
Who may be excused from all or part of this requirement.
Extension or Hardship Exception:
Effective July 13, 2012; Updated November 21, 2014; June 4, 2016; December 8, 2018: The board or its designee may grant, for a specific period of time, an extension in order to complete the basic CPE requirement, or grant a written hardship exception for reasons of individual hardship (i.e. health or military service). To request an extension or hardship exception, an individual must submit the appropriate form. The board or designee will evaluate the request on a case-by-case basis..
Reinstatement:
Effective October 29, 2010: An individual formerly the holder of a permit who wishes to apply for reinstatement of the permit must satisfy the provisions of ARM 24.201.2106 ("Basic Continuing Education Requirement") in the three years immediately preceding application for permit reinstatement. Supporting documentation verifying the completion of CPE must be submitted to the board with the petition for reinstatement.
Inactive to Active License - Restoration: Updated November 21, 2014, June 4, 2016, December 9, 2017:
Retired Status: Updated November 21, 2014, June 4, 2016, December 9, 2017:
Whether unused credits can apply to the next period.
Effective July 13, 2012: Not specified.
Prior to July 13, 2012:Applicants who have already met the full basic requirement by the end of any June 30th reporting period may elect to have excess continuing education hours taken during the immediately preceding months of May and June apply to the subsequent reporting period.
Prior to July 13, 2012:Applicants who have not completed their full basic requirements by the end of any June 30th reporting period may elect to have qualified continuing education hours taken during the immediately following months of July and August apply to the previous reporting period.
Rule changes the regulator has finalized, with effective dates.
Refer to the specific sections above for more details on any of the items noted below.
Effective December 8, 2018: The Board made minor verbiage changes to rules related to:
Effective December 9, 2017: NASBA recently adopted new continuing professional education (CPE) standards. Because of this, the MT Board formed a task force and revised its CPE requirements to align with the new NASBA standards. Significant changes included:
June 4, 2016 Update: The MT Board has made numerous minor updates and clarifications in CPE rule language, among them renaming "permit holders" to "licensees" and removing references to "QAS."
November 21, 2014 Update: The MT board has updated and rewritten many regulations, several of which are related to CPE. The changes are meant to streamline and simplify board rules. With regard to CPE, the amendments to the rules only clarify requirements, but add no additional burden to current licensees or new applicants.
Cycling Period:
Effective July 13, 2012: Beginning in 2012, the annual period ends on December 31. The three-year rolling period ending 2012 (which would have ended June 30th) will now encompass the dates between July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2012, as the 2012 CPE year was extended six months in order to accommodate the change from a fiscal year to a calendar year.
Breakdown of Specific Requirements:
Effective July 13, 2012: Holders of a Montana permit to practice are required to have 120 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) with a subset of two hours in ethics in any rolling three-year period.
Start Date:
Effective July 13, 2012: Beginning with the 2012 period, the rolling three-year period will be based on the calendar year. To make the change from fiscal year to calendar year, licensees will be able to count CPE obtained between July 1, 2011 and December 31, 2012, toward the 2012 year.
Reporting Method:
Effective July 13, 2012: Holders of a permit to practice are required to affirm their compliance with the basic CPE requirement as required by the Board, upon annual renewal. This affirmation will be for the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year.
Effective July 13, 2012: Reporting of actual courses/credits is not required, unless the CPE is dictated by the board as a result of the profession monitoring program, the individual is selected for a random CPE audit as outlined in ARM 24.201.2148 (refer to "Enforcement" section), or the individual must otherwise prove compliance for licensure purposes (i.e. renewing an expired license, reactivating a license, transfer of license).
Effective July 13, 2012: Participants in group or self-study programs must document obtain documentation of their participation including NASBA Registry ID or NASBA QAS Sponsor ID (if applicable).
Reporting Date:
Effective July 13, 2012: Holders of a permit to practice will be required to affirm their compliance with the basic requirement upon annual renewal. This affirmation will be for the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year.
Requirements for New Licensees:
Effective July 13, 2012: Applicants for a permit to practice who have never been licensed in any jurisdiction must meet the basic requirement of CPE by December 31 of the third year following the year of the initial issuance of the Montana permit (example: If an individual received their permit to practice in 2010, they must meet the basic CPE requirement by December 31, 2013).
Requirements for Non-residents:
Effective July 13, 2012: Out-of-State Applicants Seeking a Montana Permit to Pratice - Continuing Education Requirement: An individual, who holds a valid and unrevoked certified public accountant certificate or public accountant license issued by any jurisdiction, and who makes application under the appropriate provisions of the statutes for a certificate or license in this state, and who receives a certificate or license from this state, shall be required to comply with the basic requirement before being issued a permit to practice in this state.
Exemptions:
Effective July 13, 2012: To request an extension or exception, an individual must submit the appropriate form and fees. The board will review requests on a case-by-case basis.
Carryover Credit:
Effective July 13, 2012: Not specified.
Enforcement:
Effective July 13, 2012: Verification:
Credit for Teaching and Repeat Credit:
Effective July 13, 2012: Lecturers, instructors, and speakers may claim continuing education credit for both preparation and presentation time to the extent the activities maintain or increase their professional competence and qualify for continuing education credit for participants.Credit may be claimed for actual preparation time up to two times the class credit hours once in any rolling three-year period. The maximum credit for such preparation and teaching shall not exceed 50% (or 60 hours) of the basic requirement in any rolling three-year period.
Credit for Writing:
Effective July 13, 2012: Credit may be claimed for published articles and books provided they contribute to the professional competence of the individual. Credit for the preparation of such publications may be claimed on a self-declaration basis, not to exceed 25 percent (or 30 hours) of the basic requirement, unless exceptional circumstances justify greater credit. The final amount of credit awarded will be determined by the board on a case-by-case basis.
Credit for Self-Study Education:
Effective July 13, 2012: Formal self-study programs shall receive continuing education credit equal to the amount granted by the sponsor, if the sponsor is a NASBA Registry or NASBA QAS sponsor. These programs are calculated on a 50-minute hour.
Other Special Rules:
Effective July 13, 2012: Continuing education credit may be claimed for serving as a report reviewer under the board's profession monitoring program established in the Board regulations, or under other structured report review programs to be approved on a case-by-case basis by the board. Once approved, one hour of credit shall be granted for every hour spent reviewing reports. The maximum credit for such reviews shall be no more than 16 hours in any given calendar year.
Certificates of Attendance:
Effective July 13, 2012: The certificate of attendance must include the NASBA Registry ID or NASBA QAS Sponsor ID (if applicable).
Other Special Rules:
Related to the Board's profession monitoring program:
Credit for Self-Study Education:
Effective October 29, 2010: Interactive self-study programs shall receive continuing education credit equal to the average completion time, if the sponsor is recognized and approved by NASBA's CPE quality assurance service (referred to as a NASBA QAS sponsor) or NASBA's national registry of CPE sponsors (referred to as a NASBA registry sponsor).
Breakdown of Specific Requirements:
For periods ending June 30, 2005 and earlier: At least 24 hours of the 120 hours of acceptable continuing education credit must consist of subjects related to the reporting on financial statements (as defined in ARM 8.54.204).
Prepared and maintained by CeriFi CPEdge, which has tracked CPE rules for over 20 years, covering 76 accountancy regulators — all 50 state boards of accountancy, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, plus national bodies and professional designations including NASBA, PCAOB, Yellow Book, CFP, IRS Enrolled Agents and CTEC.
Each regulator is tracked across 44 distinct rule areas — credit categories, compliance periods, format limits, carryover, new-licensee provisions, reporting method and provider-approval requirements. When a board changes its rules the rule set is updated, and where the published wording is ambiguous CeriFi confirms the interpretation with the board directly. The Approved Rule Changes section records the dated history for Montana.
Always verify against the regulator’s own published rules — see official links above.
CPEdge applies Montana’s compliance period, credit categories, carryover and new-licensee provisions to your activity history automatically, and tells you what is still outstanding — across every jurisdiction you are licensed in at once.
Already included in all three CPE packages: Professional · Premier · Premier Plus — compare packages
Need courses too? Browse the catalog to find CPE that satisfies these requirements.
This rule summary was prepared solely by CeriFi and is not endorsed, reviewed, or approved by your State Board of Accountancy. While CeriFi takes great strides to accurately convey the CPE rules and requirements in a readily accessible and easy-to-understand format, this summary does not in any way represent or replace the official rules of the regulating authority. Thus, these summaries are not to be relied upon as a substitute for the official rules and regulations of the regulating authority. CeriFi does not warrant the accuracy of this rule summary and CeriFi may not be held liable for any damages as a result of any reliance upon it.